April 21, 2019  

Current weather

Clear sky, 44.6 °F

July 2017

Main Content

Mississippi Home of Your Own (HOYO) will sponsor a free, one-day homebuyer education workshop Saturday, Aug. 12, for any residents in Forrest and surrounding counties interested in buying a home. The workshop will be held from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. at Parkway Heights United Methodist Church at 2420 Hardy Street in Hattiesburg.


The University of Southern Mississippi has been honored as a School of Distinction by online resource guide BestColleges.com. The inaugural list recognizes colleges and universities that lead the way in online education through a diverse selection of accessible and rigorous academic programs.


Educators from Harrison Central High School and The University of Southern Mississippi recently kicked off a yearlong professional development opportunity facilitated by the Live Oak Writing Project (LOWP) on the University’s Gulf Park campus in Long Beach. 


Members of the Student Government Association (SGA) on The University of Southern Mississippi Gulf Park Campus recently began a project that will inform many on the University’s beachfront campus for years to come.


Situated in the heart of campus, next to Bear Point Bayou, stands the first marker of a developing interactive trail that will run throughout the Gulf Park campus.



Students in the inaugural Hacking for Defense (H4D) class at The University of Southern Mississippi made their final team presentations on Wednesday, July 26 at Scianna Hall on the Hattiesburg campus.


Dr. Shea Kidd Houze, director of New Student and Retention Programs at The University of Southern Mississippi, has been selected to serve as one of seven national faculty members for the Orientation Professionals Institute, which is part of the National Orientation Directors Association (NODA).


Several graduates of The University of Southern Mississippi’s School of Library and Information Science master’s degree program (MLIS) recently earned recognition for their work, were published or took on new roles in their field.


The University of Southern Mississippi’s Small Business Development Center (SBDC) in Hattiesburg will join forces with the Gulf Coast center to conduct a series of Business 101 workshops in August.



On July 1, 2017, the Southern Mississippi Alumni Association installed its executive committee for the 2017-18 fiscal year. Individuals include alumni who are accomplished leaders in their communities who demonstrate strong commitment to the betterment of the University.