April 21, 2018  

Current weather

Clear sky, 48.2 °F

Facilities to Receive Recognition during National Sports Security Conference

Main Content
The seventh annual National Sports Safety and Security Conference and Exhibition will take place on July 12-14, 2016 at the JW Marriott Desert Ridge Resort in Phoenix, Arizona. (Submitted photo)

A total of 12 sports facilities will be recognized for their leadership in addressing safety and security issues as part of the 2016 National Sports Safety and Security Conference and Exhibition set for July 12-14, in Phoenix, Arizona. This year’s theme is Achieving the Gold Standard.

The Gold Standard is an industry benchmark to guide sport organizations achieve their safety and security mission while balancing costs, operational efficiencies and maintaining an engaged workforce, all while enhancing the fan experience. More than 300 security professionals and 60 vendor exhibits are expected for the national conference.

The presentation of the Facility of Merit Awards will take place on the second day of the seventh annual conference, which is hosted by the National Center for Spectator Sports Safety and Security (NCS4) at The University of Southern Mississippi.

“The Facility of Merit Award is to allow professional leagues, NCAA member institutions and marathon and endurance organizations to honor outstanding facilities that have gone above and beyond for their sports safety and security” said NCS4 Director Dr. Lou Marciani. “These contributions involve enhancing safety and security at their venue beyond what is normally required, and setting an example for other facilities to follow.”

Marciani noted that each league or organization selects the criteria and makes the determination as to which facility will be recognized. Those facilities being recognized include the following:

  • Medtronic Twins Cities Marathon (Road Race/Endurance Events)
  • Katy Independent School District (NFHS)
  • Milton Academy (NFHS)
  • Thornton Academy (NFHS)
  • Michigan Stadium, University of Michigan (NCAA)
  • McLane Stadium, Baylor University (NCAA)
  • Lubber Stadium, Grand Valley State University (NCAA)
  • Carnie Smith Stadium, Pittsburg State University (NCAA)
  • Yankee Stadium (MLB)
  • MTS Centre (NHL)
  • Air Canada Centre (NBA)
  • Lambeau Field (NFL)

For more information about National Conference, visit http://www.ncs4.com/conference and for more information about the awards visit https://www.ncs4.com/about/ncs4-recognition-awards.

About the 7th Annual Conference:

The National Center for Spectator Sports Safety and Security’s (NCS4) National Sports Safety and Security Conference & Exhibition will be held in Phoenix, Arizona on July 12-14, 2016. The theme this year is Achieving the Gold Standard. The conference attracts exhibitors, sponsors, and professionals such as sports venue and event operators, managers, security and safety staff, emergency managers, and law enforcement. These are representatives from the following levels: professional leagues, intercollegiate athletics, interscholastic athletics and marathon/endurance events. For more conference and exhibition information, visit http://www.ncs4.com/conference.