October 19, 2018  

Current weather

Overcast, mist

Faculty Recognized for Achievements at Awards Recognition Ceremony

Main Content

University of Southern Mississippi faculty members were honored for achievements in teaching, research, service and leadership at the annual Faculty Awards Recognition Ceremony, held May 5 at the Trent Lott Center on the Hattiesburg campus. The event was sponsored by USM’s Office of the Provost and Faculty Senate.

Faculty members and their awards/recognition include the following:

*Higher Education Appreciation Day-Working for Academic Excellence (HEADWAE)   - Dr. Jiu Ding, Mathematics.

*Nina Bell Suggs Endowed Professorship (2016-17) – Dr. Allison Abra, History; Dr. Matthew Casey, History; Dr. Song Guo, Chemistry and Biochemistry; Dr. Donald Sacco, Psychology.

*USM nominee, IHL Diversity Award for Excellence – Dr. Mohamed Elasri, Biological Sciences.

*University Excellence Awards – Tisha Zelner, Excellence in Service; Dr. Mac Alford, Excellence in Teaching.

*Grand Marshal – Dr. David R. Davies, Mass Communication and Journalism.

*USM nominees, National Endowment for the Humanities Award – Dr. Matthew Casey History, Dr. Andrew Ross, History.

*Faculty Senate Junior Faculty Awards – Dr. Alexandra Valint, English (Teaching); Allen Chen, Psychology (Creative Activity); Dr. Donald Sacco, Psychology (Faculty Research).
*Aubrey Keith and Ella Ginn Lucas Endowment for Faculty Excellence Awards – Dr. Dan Capper, Religion; Dr. Matthew Casey, History; Dr. Westley Follett, History; Dr. Joshua Haynes, History; Dr. Mark Huff, Psychology; Dr. Shalid Karim, Biological Sciences; Dr. Lucas Keefer, Psychology; Dr. Webb Parker, Music; Dr. Ann Blankenship, Educational Research and Administration; Dr. Jonathon Pluskota, Mass Communication and Journalism; Dr. Stephanie Smith, Psychology; Dr. Timothy Tesh, Music; Dr. Kimberly Ward, Speech and Hearing Sciences; Dr. Matthew Ward, Anthropology and Sociology; Dr. Fei Xue, Mass Communication and Journalism.

*Summer Grants for Improvement of Instruction – Dr. Hugh Broome, Chemistry and Biochemistry; Dr. Max Grivno and Dr. Jill Abney, History; Dr. James Lambers, Mathematics; Cynthia Littlejohn and Melissa Gutierrez, Biological Sciences; Dr. Andrew Ross, History; Dr. Jeremy Scott, Physics and Astronomy; Dr. Katie Smith, Anthropology and Sociology; and Dr. Alan Thompson, Criminal Justice.

*Association for College and University Educators (ACUE) Faculty Development Institute Certificate in Active Learning – Dr. Cindy Blackwell, Mass Communication and Journalism; Dr. Ann Blankenship, Educational Research and Administration; Dr. Hugh Broome, Chemistry and Biochemistry; Dr. Nick Ciraldo, Music; Dr. Mike Davis, Biological Sciences; Haley Dozier, doctoral student, Mathematics; Dr. Mary Funk, Interdisciplinary Studies; Dr. Max Grivno, History; Melissa Gutierrez, Biological Sciences; Linda Hanson, Chemistry and Biochemistry; Dr. Katie James, Anthropology and Sociology; Dr. Sungsoo Kim, Economic Development, Tourism and Sport Management; Cynthia Littlejohn, Biological Sciences; Dr. Courtney Luckhardt, History; Candice Mitchell, graduate student, Mathematics; Marlene Naquin, Mathematics; Dr. Rebecca Newton, Nursing; Dr. Jennifer Osborne, Curriculum, Instruction and Special Education; Dr. Jonathon Pluskota, Mass Communication and Journalism; Dr. Jennifer Regan, Biological Sciences; Renee Rupp, Nutrition and Food Systems; Dr, Gregory Smith, Curriculum, Instruction and Special Education; Dr. Katie Smith, Anthropology and Sociology; Corwin Stanford, Mathematics; Dr. Steven Stelk, Finance, Real Estate and Business Law; Dr. Gallayanee Yaoyuneyong, Marketing and Merchandising; Dr. Zhu Huiqing, Mathematics; Melissa Ziegler, Kinesiology.

*Innovation in Online Teaching Award – Dr. James T. Fox, Educational Research and Administration. 

*University Research Council Innovation Awards – Dr. Donald Sacco, Psychology, Basic Research Award; Dr. Philip Bates, Chemistry and Biochemistry, Applied Research Award; Mark Rigsby, Art and Design; Creative Activities Award; Dr. Robson Storey, Polymers and High Performance Materials, Academic Partnership Award; Dr. Vijay Rangachari Chemistry and Biochemistry, Multidisciplinary Award; Dr. Marie Danforth, Anthropology and Sociology, Research Advocate Award; Khem Raj Budachetri, Biological Sciences, Graduate Student Award.

USM Faculty Senate Resolutions announced at the ceremony included those honoring recently deceased faculty members Dr. Stan Kuczaj, Psychology; Dr. Ed Nissan, Economics; and Dolly Loyd, Marketing.