February 23, 2018  

Current weather

Overcast, 64.4 °F

Fallen Eagles 2013 Ceremony set for Tuesday, March 5

Main Content

A memorial service for University of Southern Mississippi students, faculty and staff who passed away during the academic year will be held on the Hattiesburg campus Tuesday, March 5 at 6:30 p.m. in the Thad Cochran Center, room 218.

Known as the Fallen Eagles Ceremony, the event began in the 2003 fall semester as an initiative of the Southern Miss Student Government Association to honor the memory of deceased members of the university community.

Students, faculty and staff to be memorialized include:


George Sylvester Lewis Caston

Class:  Senior

Major:  Political Science

Hometown: Magnolia, Miss.


Justin Ian Webb

Class:  Freshman

Major:  Biological Sciences

Hometown: Moselle, Miss.


Fredrecka Nicole Brown

Class:  Junior

Major:  Child Development

Hometown: Magnolia, Miss.


Rebecca A. Disharoon

Class:  Sophomore

Major:  Biological Sciences

Hometown: Jackson, Miss.


John J. White

Class:  Senior

Major:  Technology Education; Minor: Psychology

Hometown: Gulfport, Miss.


Joshua T. Boyles

Class:  Freshman

Major:  Construction Engineering Technology

Hometown: Laurel, Miss


Emezie Samuel Ezeala-Harrison

Class:  Sophomore

Major:  Media Production

Hometown: Ridgeland, Miss.


Darrius Ramon Woodward

Class:  Sophomore

Major:  Mathematics (Licensure)

Hometown: Magnolia, Miss.


Lance Christopher Logan

Class: Senior

Major:  Economics, Finance, International Business, Minor:German

Hometown: Columbia, Miss.


Dr. Ernest King, College of Business

Virginia Berry, College of Health

Dr. Kenneth Watson, College of Arts and Letters

Dr. Gene Wiggins, Professor Emeritus of Mass Communication and Journalism

For more information on this memorial, contact the Southern Miss Dean of Students Office at 601.266.6028.