February 23, 2019  

Current weather

Broken clouds, 73.4 °F

Fraternity to Recognize Male High School Achievers in Ceremony at USM

Main Content

The Hattiesburg Alumni Chapter and The University of Southern Mississippi Chapter of Kappa Iota of Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc. will host its annual Founders’ Day Program at 5 p.m. on Saturday, Feb. 3, at the Trent Lott Center on USM’s Hattiesburg campus. The highlight of the program is the Coca-Cola Achievement Awards.

“As a fraternity, we honor our founders annually. Locally, we’ve been partnering with the schools and Coca-Cola to recognize African-American male high school seniors for their Achievements since the mid-1980s,” stated L.J. Daniels, President of the Hattiesburg Alumni Chapter.

The Coca-Cola Achievement Awardees are submitted to the fraternity by Hattiesburg area schools. These include: Forrest County Agricultural, Hattiesburg, North Forrest Oak Grove, Petal, and Sacred Heart. The submission consists of the schools’ top students who have achieved in academics, the arts and athletics to the fraternity. The honorees include the following:

  • FCAHS: Terry Barnes (academics), Kimari Sledge (athletics)
  • Hattiesburg: Dexter Jordan (athletics), Jonathan Frelix (arts), Jerrian Reedy (arts)
  • North Forrest: Drayln Crrom (athletics), Timothy Smith (arts), Karenton Earl (academics)
  • Oak Grove: Noah Harris (academics), Jaylen Mack (arts), Jaden Crumley (athletics)
  • Petal: Herman Howard (arts), Jordan Wilson (athletics), Feizal Mjhido (academics)
  • Sacred Heart: Christopher Hunter-Durr (arts), Jeremiah Smith (athletics)

This year’s speaker is USM President Rodney D. Bennett. Bennett became the 10th university president on April 1, 2013.  He is also a member of Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc.

Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc. was founded on Jan. 5, 1911 on the campus of Indiana University, Bloomington, Ind. The Hattiesburg Alumni was chartered on Oct. 9, 1960 and The University of Southern Mississippi Chapter, the Kappa Iota was chartered on Oct. 10, 1980. The fraternity’s purpose is “Honorable Achievement in Every Field of Human Endeavor” and its motto is “Achievement.”