February 25, 2018  

Current weather

Overcast, light rain, 55.4 °F

Retired Southern Miss Professor Receives “Chemist of the Year” Award

Main Content
Bob Bateman

Former University of Southern Mississippi professor Dr. Robert C. Bateman, Jr. received the 2010 Mississippi Section of the American Chemical Society’s (ACS) “Chemist of the Year ” at the Mississippi ACS awards dinner held recently on the Southern Miss Hattiesburg campus.

Bateman, who retired from Southern Miss in June of 2011 after 23 years, served as chair of its Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry for 10 years. His research has been supported by funding from the National Institutes of Health, the National Science Foundation, the National Marine Fisheries Services and numerous others.  Following his retirement, Bateman is now a member of the faculty at William Carey University.

Bateman received his Ph.D. in biochemistry from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and spent three years as a Postdoctoral Fellow in biochemistry at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center in Dallas before joining the Southern Miss faculty.

With more than 163,000 members, the American Chemical Society (ACS) is the world’s largest scientific society and one of the world’s leading sources of authoritative scientific information. A nonprofit organization chartered by the U.S. Congress, ACS is at the forefront of the evolving worldwide chemical enterprise and the premier professional home for chemists, chemical engineers and related professions around the globe.