February 25, 2018  

Current weather

Overcast, 71.6 °F

Southern Miss Chi Omega Recognized at National Convention

Main Content
Pictured left to right: Kristi Pierce, Alicia Frazier, Rhea Phillips Valentine and Kim Wingo. (Submitted photo)

The Epsilon Delta Chapter of Chi Omega Fraternity at The University of Southern Mississippi was recognized with the “Chapter of Excellence” Award and the “Founder’s Cup” at the fraternity’s national convention in Orlando, Fla., June 25-29.

“I couldn’t be more humbled and proud to be able to lead a chapter which was recognized as one of the top five in the nation,” said chapter President Jamie Jackson. “This award acknowledges all of the hard work, dedication and passion of not only the active members of our chapter, but of the alumnae as well. It is really fulfilling to see all of the ways in which everyone has contributed to our chapter have really paid off.”

The “Chapter of Excellence” is awarded based on a score of 85 percent or higher performance on the chapter report. The score factors in chapter performance regarding: scholarship, recruitment, retention, philanthropic service, finances and chapter operations.

The “Founder’s Cup” is a new award presented to the top five highest-scoring chapters out of 178 Chi Omega Fraternity chapters in the United States.

“The ‘Founder’s Cup’ is a very high distinction and Epsilon Delta is proud to receive this treasure as a result of many years of hard work from many people,” said chapter Secretary Alicia Frazier.

During the convention chapters, chapters from around the country were represented by collegians, advisors, and housing board members. The theme for this year’s convention was “Symphony of Sisterhood,” with an emphasis to revamp new member education programs.

Southern Miss delegates in attendance were the chapter’s new member educator Rhea Phillips Valentine, chapter Secretary Alicia Frazier and advisors Kristi Pierce and Kim Wingo.

Special distinction was also given to former Southern Miss President and Chi Omega alumna Martha Saunders for giving the convention’s keynote address during the first business meeting.