February 25, 2018  

Current weather

Overcast, 57.2 °F

Southern Miss Comcast Golf Classic Benefits Student Scholarships, Stipends

Main Content

As six winners from the Southern Miss Comcast Golf Classic get ready to take the green in Las Vegas, Nevada, on Sunday, Nov. 13, University of Southern Mississippi students are also reaping the rewards from another successful golf tournament.

Held in early October, the two-person scramble event saw each team of golfers designate a particular scholarship program within student affairs at Southern Miss that would benefit from the team’s play.

 “Sponsorship has risen to over 60 sponsors for the 2011 Classic, said Chris McGee, associated director of Recreational Sports at Southern Miss. “Also, having Comcast as the title sponsor allows for more proceeds from the tournament to go toward student scholarships and stipends.”

Each year, the golf tournament raises funds for more than 30 scholarships and stipends to benefit Southern Miss students. Cherodie Cannon, Southern Miss senior and Recreational Sports employee, received a stipend from the golf tournament which allowed her to attend a regional conference where she and a follow co-worker gave a presentation.

“Without the financial benefits from scholarships and stipends, many students such as myself, are not able to afford to attend workshops and conferences,” said Cannon. “Events like the golf tournament make it possible and give students an opportunity to network with professionals in the field.”

The tournament began with a 9 a.m. shotgun start at Hattiesburg’s championship Canebrake Golf Course, rated no. 3 in the state by Golf Digest. “This year’s tournament field was the largest we’ve had with 136 players,” said Dr. Joe Paul, vice president of student affairs at The University of Southern Mississippi.

The three Championship flight division winners will compete in the national championships to be held Nov.13 at the Paiute Golf Club in Las Vegas. The three division categories included Student/Student, Faculty/Staff, and Alumni/Community. The winners in each division were Heath Smith and Rob Harvey, Dave Beckett and Kerry Geroux, and Todd Nace and Michael Dowst, respectively.

There was also a second flight with the same divisions named the Joe Paul flight. The winners of the three divisions of the Joe Paul flight were Colton Seymour and Hunter Davis, Bradley Blair and John Hayman, Frank McCormick and Nicholas McIlwain, respectively.