February 20, 2018  

Current weather

Overcast, 69.8 °F

Southern Miss Names Cannon Associate Vice President of Research

Main Content
Dr. Gordon Cannon has been named the new Associate Vice President of Research at Southern Miss. (Submitted photo)

The University of Southern Mississippi has named Dr. Gordon Cannon its new Associate Vice President for Research, pending approval by the IHL Board of Trustees.

Cannon, who is presently the Thomas Waring Bennett Distinguished Professor in the Sciences at Southern Miss, works within the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry. In his new position, which he is scheduled to begin in May, Cannon will work closely with Vice President of Research Dr. Denis Wiesenburg in providing new research opportunities at Southern Miss.

“Dr. Cannon is stepping into his new position at the right time, as we enter into several new research projects and as we continue to grow our outside research funding,” explained Wiesenburg. “I know he will encourage his colleagues in all departments as they work to provide breakthrough research in their specific disciplines.”

Cannon received his undergraduate degree from Clemson in 1975 and his doctorate degree from Clemson in 1982. His post-doctorate work was done at Roche Institute of Molecular Biology from 1982-1987. He has been teaching and conducting research at Southern Miss since 1987.

“Southern Miss has been my academic home for 24 years and has provided me with the opportunities to successfully perform my life’s work at the national and international level,” declared Cannon. “It is truly an honor and privilege to use my experience to help advance USM’s ascent to the top as a nationally and internationally recognized research university.”

In 2010, Cannon received the Southern Miss Lifetime Achievement Award from the University Research Council. During his tenure at the university, he has secured nearly $8 million in research grant monies from groups such as the National Science Foundation, the Department of Homeland Security and the U.S. Department of Agriculture.