February 21, 2018  

Current weather

Overcast, light rain, 75.2 °F

Southern Miss Nursing Professors to Attend National Conference

Main Content
Members of the AANA Program Committe include the following: Standing, left to right: Jose D. Castillo III, CRNA, MSNA; Leslie A. Jeter, CRNA, MSNA; Brian D. Thorson, CRNA, MA; Senior Director of Education and Professional Development John C. Preston, CRNA, DNSc; Daniel D. Vigness, CRNA, MS; and Assistant Director for Education Programming Marilyn Noettl, RN, MS. Seated, left to right: Assistant Director of Convention and Meeting Planning Connie M. Komora, CMP; Rose M. Synsmir, CRNA, MSN, MA; AANA Program Committee Chair Marjorie Geisz-Everson, CRNA, PhD; and Maria T. Hirsch, CRNA, DNAP.

The University of Southern Mississippi College of Nursing will be well represented when Dr. Vickie Stuart and Dr. Marjorie Geisz-Everson take part in the American Association of Nurse Anesthetists (AANA) Annual Meeting set for Aug. 4-8 in San Francisco.

Stuart, director of the new Nurse Anesthesia Program at Southern Miss, is a past member of the AANA Education and Wellness committees. She is a recent appointee to the 2012-13 Public Relations Committee. Everson, assistant director of the Southern Miss program, is currently serving as chairperson of the AANA’s Program Committee.

“I have been honored to work as a member of the AANA Program Committee for the past four years,” said Geisz-Everson. “I think it is important for faculty members to be involved nationally in their professional organizations to set an example for students.”

The AANA Program Committee is responsible for planning and implementing the continuing education programs of the Fall Leadership Academy, Mid-Year Assembly, the AANA Annual Meeting and other Association educational activities as assigned. The Committee conducts its business in face-to-face and distance formats throughout the year.

Founded in 1931, the ANNA is the professional association representing more than 44,000 Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetists (CRNAs) and student registered nurse anesthetists nationwide. The AANA issues education and practice standards and guidelines, and affords consultation to both private and governmental entities regarding nurse anesthetists and their practice.

The AANA developed and implemented a certification program in 1945 and instituted a recertification program in 1978. It established a mechanism for accreditation of nurse anesthesia educational programs in 1952, which has been recognized by the U.S. Department of Education since 1955.

The Southern Miss Nurse Anesthesia Program will include 36 consecutive months of study and award a Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) degree. College of Nursing officials hope to receive final approval from the Council on Accreditation of Nurse Anesthesia Educational Programs in October with classes set to begin in January 2013.