April 21, 2019  

Current weather

Clear sky, 75.2 °F

Southern Miss Staff Members Receive Public Relations Awards

Main Content

Multiple staff members at The University of Southern Mississippi have received recognition for their work in the field of public relations from the Pine Belt Chapter of the Public Relations Association of Mississippi.

Pine Belt PRAM hosted its annual awards banquet earlier this week, which included its Spark Awards and Chapter Awards. Southern Miss was well represented among the recipients.

Hanna Knowles in the College of Health received the President’s Choice Award and the Burlian O’Neal Walker Professional Promise Award. The President’s Choice is given to a PRAM board member who is selected by the current board president based on their dedication to the advancement of the organization, and willingness to go above and beyond. The Burlian O’Neal Walker Professional Promise Award recognizes a young or new practitioner who shows a future of success in the field of public relations. Knowles also received an Award of Excellence in Writing for a news release.

Catherine Lott of the DuBard School for Language Disorders received a Spark Award and Judges’ Choice Award for the annual event, DuBard School Speakeasy. Spark Awards were given to entrants who received the highest scores given by a panel of judges. The Judges’ Choice award is given to only one submission across all categories and was selected based on overall program development.

Jenny Boudreaux of the Southern Miss Alumni Association received an Award of Excellence for the quarterly publication, The Talon. Awards of Excellence were given to the second highest scored submissions.

FestivalSouth, a multifaceted event coordinated and presented in part by faculty, staff and students across the College of Arts and Letters, received the Pine Belt Public Image Award. This new award recognizes a single Pine Belt area organization for a public relations campaign that significantly improves the image or quality of life of the Pine Belt region. Dr. Mike Lopinto, FestivalSouth’s artistic director, accepted the award on behalf of the many individuals involved.