February 24, 2018  

Current weather

Scattered clouds, 69.8 °F

Southern Miss Student Government Leaders Chosen in Campus Elections

Main Content
Erick Brown

Members of the executive cabinet of The University of Southern Mississippi StudentGovernment Association (SGA) were chosen during elections held Tuesday on the Hattiesburg campus.

Newly elected officers include the following:

·         President:  Erick Brown, a junior sociology major from Columbus, Miss. A Presidential Scholar and Honors Collegestudent, Brown was named an Outstanding Freshman Male and is an Honors College ambassador. He is a member of Southern Style 2011; Alpha Epsilon Delta Pre-Professional Honorary; The Legacy; the American Medical Student Association; the Sociology Club; and the University Creed Team. A Dean’s List scholar, he is the son of James and Virginia Brown of Columbus, Miss.

·         Vice President: Jeffery McClendon, a sophomore English and political science double major from Greenville, Miss. He is a Luckyday Citizenship and Foundation Scholarand a member of the Luckyday Leadership Team. A recipient of the Golden Eagle Opportunity Award, McClendon’s other campus activities include Southern Style 2011; Residence Life Judicial Board (President); Pre-Law Society; Political Science Club; Freshman Associates; Residence Hall Association delegate; and 2010 Golden Eagle Welcome Week crew.  He is the son of Jeff and Shellie McClendon of Greenville, Miss.

·         Attorney General: Rebecca Masters, a junior nutrition and dietetics major from Ellisville, Miss. Masters is a member of Southern Style 2010; a student in the Honors College; a Luckyday Citizenship Scholar and vice president of the Luckyday Leadership Team and a Luckyday Mentor. Chosen as a Most Outstanding Freshman Female, Masters is also a member of the SGA Judicial Board; Lambda Sigma Honorary; the 2011 Golden Eagle Welcome Weekend Executive Board; the Southern Miss Women’s Soccer Team; and the Fellowship of Christian Athletes Leadership Team. She is the daughter of Eddie and Kathy Masters of Ellisville, Miss.

·         Election Commissioner: Jessica Dominguez, a junior elementary education major from New Orleans. Dominguez is a President’s List and Golden Eagle scholar and was named an Outstanding Freshman Female. She served with Southern Style in 2010; is a member of Delta Delta Delta sorority; is Academic Affairs chair; served as executive director for Eaglepalooza; and is a member of Golden Key Honor Society, Lambda Sigma and Eagle Connection. She is the daughter of Virna and Jorge Dominguez of New Orleans.

·         Treasurer:  Davontae Washington, a junior business management major from Hattiesburg. A Leadership Scholar, he was named a Centennial Celebration Most Outstanding Freshman Male. Washington is also a Dean’s List scholar and is a member of Delta Sigma Pi Professional Fraternity; Freshman Associates, Golden Eagle Welcome Week Crew 2010; Eagle Connection; Men of Excellence; and a founding member of Students Against Destructive Decisions(SADD). He is the son of Pearline Martin of Hattiesburg.

For more information about the Southern Miss Student Government Association, online visit http://www.usm.edu/sga/