February 23, 2018  

Current weather

Overcast, 64.4 °F

Southern Miss Students Win MAPB Contest Awards

Main Content

University of Southern Mississippi students recently won awards in Jackson at the Mississippi Associated Press Broadcasters (MAPB) annual contest honoring the best in broadcast journalism in the state for 2012.

The winners, categories and title of production recognized included:

College Radio, Feature Story: first place: Courtney Ingle of Harrisville, Miss., WUSM-FM for “Habitat for Humanity 2-16-2012”; second place: Arielle Edwards of Hattiesburg, WUSM-FM for “Art Walk 10-16-2012”.

College Radio, News Story: third place, Kaileigh Culotta of Liberty, Miss.; Jonathon McGowan of Meridian, Miss.; Alex Washington of Clinton, Miss.; Deysi Martinez of Ocean Springs, Miss.; and Courtney Ingle, WUSM-FM for “Tyner Indictment 9-4-2012.”

College Radio, Newscast: first place, Dew Higginbottom of Memphis, Tenn., WUSM-FM for “Morning Breath Drew’s News 9-4-2012”.

College Radio, Sportscast: first place, Drew Higginbottom for “Sports Fix 9-10-2012,” and second place, Drew Higginbottom and Houston Hunt of New Hebron, Miss. for “Wise Guys Sports Show 12-7-2012.”

College Television, Feature Story: second place, Jasmine Cooper, Chicago, “USM Radio.”

College Television, News Story: first place, Chantelle Upshaw, Coffeeville, Miss., “Waste Pro Recyling.”

College Television, Newscast: third place, Jazymyne Butler, Vicksburg, Miss.; Leslie Nash, Philadelphia, Miss.; Amber Travis, Hattiesburg, Miss.; Chantelle Upshaw; “Hub City TV Show Seg 1.”

For information about degree programs in broadcast journalism at Southern Miss, online visit www.usm.edu/mcj.