February 21, 2018  

Current weather

Overcast, 71.6 °F

Space Planning Committee Seeks Input from Hattiesburg Campus Constituents

Main Content

The University of Southern Mississippi’s Space Planning Committee is examining plans for the use of several large spaces on the Hattiesburg campus as they become available in the near future, and seeks input for the planning process. 

These include spaces in Elizabeth Harkins Hall, Joseph Greene Hall, McLemore Hall, and Southern Hall, as well as the current location of the Student Health Services Clinic. As a result of discussions regarding the space needs of the campus community, the president and executive cabinet appointed an Ad Hoc Space Planning Committee.

The main charge of the committee is to develop mid- to long-range plans to address space needs for the Hattiesburg campus, working within the Campus Master Plan and existing space utilization policies. To that end, it is tasked with establishing guidelines for how reallocated space should be considered to address the needs of the university over similar time frames and the review of those plans. 

The guidelines and space needs will address both academic and non-academic offices and functions (e.g. developing regions for college units, student support areas, swing spaces during renovations, etc.).  The president and executive cabinet will make final allocation decisions.

The committee has met once and is working to develop processes for submitting space needs requests and for the review of those requests. It will solicit input and requests from academic and administrative units alike, and post its procedures and guidelines on the university website in the near future. The calendar target for communicating the processes and soliciting space needs requests will be late November or early December of 2012.

Committee members were chosen to achieve broad representation of the university. Members and the areas they represent include Rita Hailey-Burks (Master Planning); Cynthia Easterling (SUAC); Chris Crenshaw (Physical Plant); Debby Hill (Registrar’s Office); Mary Dayne Gregg (Office of the President); Joe Paul (Student Affairs); Lynn McCarver (Advancement); Sam Bruton (Research); Steve Ballew (Administrative Affairs); Susan Siltanen (Office of the Provost); Frank Moore (Dean’s Council); Leisa Flynn (Faculty Senate) and Wayne Kelly (chair of the committee).

For more information, contact Wayne Kelly at gary.kelly@usm.edu.