February 18, 2019  

Current weather

Overcast, 57.2 °F

Student Research Proposals Chosen for Eagle SPUR Program

Main Content

The University of Southern Mississippi Center for Undergraduate Research and the Office of the Vice President for Research have approved research proposals of students competing for inclusion in the spring 2014 class of the Eagle Scholar Program for Undergraduate Research (Eagle SPUR). This select group of undergraduates received up to $1,000 each in the competition for research grants, with just over half of 30 proposals earning acceptance.  

The grants will be used to conduct a scholarly or creative project in collaboration with a faculty mentor. The work will be take place during the fall 2014 semester, and each student will have up to one year to present their findings in a scholarly context, such as a conference paper or publication.

The new Eagle Scholars, their major and hometown, along with their faculty mentors, include:

*Anthony Abshire, chemistry/mathematics, Biloxi, Miss. – Matthew Donahue
*Jessica Bounds, elementary education, Hattiesburg – John Bishop
*Taylor Button, marine biology/Spanish, Huntsville, Ala. – David Echevarria
*Richard Chambliss, sports coaching education/political science, Hattiesburg – Brian Gearity
*James Hunter Deerman, biological sciences, Hattiesburg – Donald Yee
*Brittney Eakins, political science/biochemistry, Kiln, Miss. – Marek Steedman
*Tori Gans, biological sciences/chemistry, Southaven, Miss. – Mac Alford
*Elyse Garon, mathematics/biological sciences, Gramercy, La. – James Lambers
*Annalise Hays, psychology/pre-med, Jackson, Miss. – Tammy Barry
*Jennifer Jefcoat, microbiology/Spanish/chemistry, Hattiesburg – J. Paige Buchanan
*Nischal Karki, biochemistry, Kathmandu – Philip Bates
*Dawne Kennedy, history/foreign languages, Hook, Miss. – Miles Doleac
*Steven Austin Lowery, geology/environmental geology, Petal, Miss. – Omar Harvey/Bandana Kar
*Hunter Newman, geology, Jackson, Miss. – Frank Heitmuller
*Randi Reed, biochemistry, Gulfport, Miss. – Vijay Rangachari
*Christopher Brian Speagle, geography/history, Ellisville, Miss. - Grant Harley.

A list of the titles of the winning projects, as well as further information about Eagle SPUR, may be found at the website for The Center for Undergraduate Research (www.usm.edu/research/cur).