February 22, 2018  

Current weather

Few clouds, 77 °F

Summer Learn to Drive Program June 2-20 at Southern Miss

Main Content

The University of Southern Mississippi will hold its annual Summer Learn to Drive Program June 2-20 on the Hattiesburg campus. The program fee is $275 and includes a morning session from 8-11 a.m. and an afternoon session from 12-3 p.m.
Participating students must be at least 14 years old and entering ninth grade in the fall to attend the class. Program topics include Mississippi traffic laws and regulations, drugs and driving, first-aid in case of an accident, vehicle maintenance, decision-making, and seat belt education. All instructors in the program hold Mississippi teacher certification in driver education.

The behind-the-wheel phase of the program begins with the elementary driving tasks of left and right turns on a driving range before moving to streets in residential areas. Eventually, more complex driving experiences take place on suburban roads, interstate highways and inner-city streets.

Those who complete the program will earn one-half credit toward their high school graduation.
Students should bring the following items on the first day of instruction:

*Verification of Attendance Form from the school which they are attending.
*Certified copy of their birth certificate. Photocopies are not acceptable.
*Original Social Security card. Photocopies are not acceptable.
*Completed application for learner’s permit/driver’s license. This form will be mailed once the registration fee has been received.
*Five dollars ($5) in cash to cover the cost of the permit on the day the student tests for his or her learner’s permit.

For more information, including access to a registration form, visit http://www.usm.edu/human-performance-recreation/usm-learn-drive-program; or call Jewel Adams 601.266.5358 or e-mail jewel.adams@usm.edu