December 18, 2018  

Current weather

Overcast, mist, light rain

USM Names Nina Bell Suggs Endowed Professorship Recipients for 2017-18

Main Content

Four University of Southern Mississippi faculty members have been chosen as recipients of the Nina Bell Suggs Endowed Professorship for the 2017-18 academic year, with two each from the College of Arts and Letters and College of Education and Psychology. 

The Nina Bell Suggs Endowed Professorship was established in 2011 to recognize an outstanding junior faculty member for outstanding accomplishments and professional promise.

Recipients of the Suggs Professorship include:

*Dr. Joye Anestis, Department of Psychology. Dr. Anestis joined the USM Department of Psychology in 2012 as a visiting assistant professor and has been a tenure-track assistant professor since fall 2014. She serves as externship coordinator for the department and as a faculty member for its Ph.D. program in clinical psychology. Her research interests include adult externalizing behaviors and syndromes, personality assessment, and clinical outcomes.

“It is very meaningful to be recognized by my university for my work as a researcher, a teacher, and a member of the academic community,” Anestis said. “I know that there are many junior faculty doing exceptional work at USM, and to be selected for this distinction from amongst that group is an honor.”   

*Dr. Daniel Capron, Department of Psychology. Dr. Capron directs the department’s Trauma and Research Program and, along with his colleague Dr. Mike Anestis (a previous recipient of the Suggs Professorship) Mike Anestis were recently awarded a four-year, $1.99 million grant from the Military Research Suicide Consortium. Dr. Capron also recently had a paper accepted that utilizes virtual reality head mounted displays to test a cognitive risk factor for suicidal ideation.

Capron said attaining the Suggs Professorship has been a career goal for him since he joined the USM faculty, and said he was “ecstatic” when he learned his colleague Anestis also received the honor. “I was driving in to work when my phone started buzzing and flashing with congratulatory messages, but I had no idea what was going on until I finally got to campus and checked my e-mail,” Capron said. “I think it’s incredible that USM honors its outstanding young faculty members with a named professorship.”

*Dr. Andrew Ross, Department of History.  Dr. Ross’ areas of expertise include European history, French history, and gender and sexuality. His first book manuscript is tentatively titled “The Pleasures of Paris: Sex and Urban Culture in the Nineteenth Century.” He is a recipient of Edouard Morot-Sir Fellowship in French Studies, Institut Français d’Amerique (2013) and the Georges Lurcy Fellowship (2010-2011); and serves on the the Governing Board of the Committee on Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History (CLGBTH) and the Governing Council of the Western Society for French History.

“I am honored to join a select group of Nina Bell Suggs professors, including many within the history department. I am humbled that my work has been recognized by the university community,” Dr. Ross said. “As I complete my first book manuscript, I will keep in mind the goals of the award, which are to recognize not only past accomplishments, but also future promise.”

*Dr. Emily Stanback, Department of English. Dr. Stanback's research interests include British Romantic Literature, 19th-century metropolitanism, poetry and poetics, the history of medicine, and disability studies. She is co-curator of The Gravestone Project, a digital humanities project exploring 18th and 19th-century graveyard cultures in the United Kingdom and the U.S.; author of The Wordsworth-Coleridge Circleand; and co-founder of the Keats Letters Project, a digital exploration of the epistolary oeuvre of Romantic poet John Keats. Prior to joining the USM faculty, Dr. Stanback was a Haas Postdoctoral Fellow at the Chemical Heritage Foundation.

Dr. Stanback expressed gratitude to her colleagues, including faculty mentor Kay Harris, and to her students for playing key roles in her accomplishments since joining the Southern Miss faculty. “It is exciting to be recognized for my work--and it's humbling to be recognized with this award in particular, given how vibrant of a university USM is,” she said.

The Suggs professorship is named for the late Nina Bell Suggs, a 1931 USM alumna who attended the university when it was known as State Teachers College. Suggs, who died in September 2000, earned a degree in business from STC and later worked as a teacher. She was a life member of the Southern Miss Alumni Association.

To learn more about the Nina Bell Suggs Professorship at USM, visit