February 21, 2018  

Current weather

Broken clouds, 73.4 °F

Winners Selected for 2011 Butch Oustalet Gulf Coast Outstanding Faculty Awards

Main Content

Recipients have been chosen for the 2011 Butch Oustalet Gulf Coast Outstanding Faculty Awards in the areas of service, teaching and research at The University of Southern Mississippi Gulf Coast.

The Research Award was presented to Dr. MD Sarder, assistant professor of industrial engineering technology. Over the past year, Sarder had multiple grants funded, including one for more than $140,000 through the Mississippi Department of Transportation. He also published two peer reviewed journal articles and four conference proceedings.

Dr. Damon Franke, associate professor of English, was presented the Teaching Award. In addition to exceptional performance in teaching in 2010, Franke further enhanced his classroom skills by participating in a Southern Miss Faculty Development Seminar. He also emphasized practical applications of the study of literature, including a writing field trip where students traveled to Ship Island to compose poetry related to the renowned Native Guard collection.

The Service Award was presented to Jack Covarrubias, director for the university’s Center for Policy and Resilience. Covarrubias has been an advocate for the improvement of campus life for students, faculty and staff. His signature achievement in 2010 was organizing and managing all aspects of the Southern Miss Gulf Coast Jazz and Blues Festival, which has developed into one of the most successful annual events on campus and in the community. 

The Butch Oustalet Gulf Coast Distinguished Faculty Awards, sponsored by the Butch Oustalet family, were created to recognize Southern Miss Gulf Coast faculty who have demonstrated exemplary achievement in service, teaching and research. The winners, selected by a four-member committee, were judged on submitted material supporting the specified area of distinction.

For more information on the Butch Oustalet Gulf Coast Distinguished Faculty Awards, call 228.865.4573.