October 23, 2018  

Current weather

Broken clouds

Articles in "Faculty and Staff"

Main Content

Dr. Song Guo, assistant professor in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry at The University of Southern Mississippi, has been awarded the National Science Foundation’s Early Career Development Award (CAREER) for his project “Morphology and Property Correlations of Chemically Doped 1D Conjugated Polymer Aggregates.”

Dr. Max Grivno, associate professor of history at The University of Southern Mississippi, has been presented the Humanities Scholar Award by the Mississippi Humanities Council as part of the council’s 2016 Public Humanities Awards.

Frustration fueled inspiration which led University of Southern Mississippi professor Scott Milroy to author his first textbook -- “Field Methods in Marine Science: From Measurements to Models,” available now and published through Garland Science.

The University of Southern Mississippi’s College of Business co-sponsored the Minority Women Entrepreneurs’ Forum on December 1, 2015 at the Island View Casino Beach Tower in Gulfport, Miss.

An assistant professor and two graduate students from The University of Southern Mississippi recently were awarded a Love of Learning award worth $500 each from The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi — the nation's oldest and most selective collegiate honor society for all academic disciplines. The awards were given to 80 Phi Kappa Phi members nationwide.

Megan Burkes, manager of annual giving and special projects at The University of Southern Mississippi Foundation, was named one of the Top 10 Under 40 at the One Coast Awards held on Tuesday, Nov. 18 at the Beau Rivage in Biloxi, Miss.


The University of Southern Mississippi has named Dr. Steven R. Moser its new Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs, pending approval by the Board of Trustees of the State Institutions of Higher Learning.


The announcement follows a national search that included outreach to more than 600 potential applicants and culminated in University visits with the top three candidates, who were selected from a pool of more than 60 applicants.

The University of Southern Mississippi will host its annual Research Awards Day Friday, Nov. 13 in the Thad Cochran Center Ballrooms on the Hattiesburg campus, beginning at 8:30 a.m.

They left the comforts of home more than 70 years ago, many of them fresh out of high school, to travel across the Atlantic Ocean and help defeat an enemy bent on enslaving the world.


That’s the legacy of the men who fought in World War II with the U.S. Army’s 103d Infantry Division – one of bravery, sacrifice and patriotism – and it is being preserved by The University of Southern Mississippi.

Nicole Ruhnke has accepted the position of assistant director for communications at The University of Southern Mississippi Alumni Association.

Dr. Scott Milroy, assistant chair and associate professor in the Department of Marine Science at The University of Southern Mississippi, will be one of the featured speakers for the TEDxJackson “Ideas Worth Spreading” series set for Thursday, Nov. 12 at the Jackson (Miss.) Convention Complex.

The Mississippi Science Teacher’s Association has named Dr. Sherry Herron, associate professor in the Department of Biological Sciences and Director of the Center for Science and Mathematics Education at The University of Southern Mississippi, Outstanding College Science Teacher for 2015.

University of Southern Mississippi Professor Cyndi Huff Gaudet employs a simple, yet inspiring, mantra to guide her efforts as chair of the Department of Human Capital Development – “Work Hard, Have Fun, and Make a Difference.”


Her commitment to that theme paved the way for Gaudet to receive the 2015 Karen Sock Woman of the Year Award, presented last weekend at the Success Women’s Conference in Biloxi.

University of Southern Mississippi staff members Megan Burkes, Christy Bjork, and Kady Pietz have been selected as Top 10 Under 40 nominees for the Mississippi Gulf Coast Chamber of Commerce One Coast Awards. The winners will be announced on Nov. 17 at the Beau Rivage Resort and Casino in Biloxi.

Dr. Cyndi Gaudet and Dr. Heather Annulis, faculty members at The University of Southern Mississippi’s Gulf Park campus, are among 40 finalists selected by Gulf Coast Woman magazine for its 2015 Woman of the Year Award.

Dr. Michael Salda, a professor in The University of Southern Mississippi’s Department of English, died Oct. 16 in Hattiesburg. He was 57.

Dr. Janie Butts and Dr. Karen Rich, both members of the nursing faculty at The University of Southern Mississippi, were invited presenters at the University of South Alabama’s Sigma Theta Tau (international Honor Society for nursing) chapter meeting on Sept. 17. Their presentation was titled: “Theoretical Foundation in DNP Education.”

Whether you come back each year or are making a special trip to visit your alma mater in 2015, homecoming is a time for alumni, students, faculty, staff and friends to celebrate all things Black and Gold at The University of Southern Mississippi. “Golden Eagles: All In” is the theme for this year’s homecoming week Oct. 12-18.


“I think homecoming is a time that our alumni can rekindle the spirit of their college years,” said Executive Director of the Southern Miss Alumni Association Executive Director Jerry DeFatta.

Dr. John Bailey, a professor in the Nurse Anesthesia Program at The University of Southern Mississippi, has been accepted to full membership in the American Society for Investigative Pathology (ASIP), the leading professional society in the United States for biomedical scientists who investigate the basic mechanisms of disease.

The annual Security and Fire Safety compliance document is now available on the University of Southern Mississippi Police Department’s website at http://www.usm.edu/police/annual-securityfire-safety-report.

A single number Hot Line and exclusive e-mail account are among the significant changes announced recently by Aramark, Eagle Dining in the Southern Miss Catering department.

The University of Southern Mississippi’s Office of Sustainability, iTech and LE Scrap Recycling are sponsoring the first ever Southern Miss Community E-Waste disposal day Saturday, Oct. 10 from 9 a.m.-1 p.m. at the Payne Center parking lot on the Hattiesburg campus. The event is an opportunity for proper disposal of unwanted electronic items.

Dr. Lilian Hill and Dr. Eric Platt, faculty members in The University of Southern Mississippi Department of Educational Studies and Research, are recipients of the 2015 Imogene Okes Award for Outstanding Research in Adult Education.

The National Council on Family Relations (NCFR) recently named Dr. Claire Kimberly, an assistant professor in the Department of Child and Family Studies at The University of Southern Mississippi, as the 2015 recipient of the Cindy Winter Scholarship Award.